Klaus Flugge Prize 2018: invitation for submissions

Submissions are now open for the Klaus Flugge Prize 2018

The Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration. It honours publisher Klaus Flugge, a supremely influential figure in picture books who, over his long career, has nurtured many top illustrators including David McKee, Tony Ross, Ruth Brown, Satoshi Kitamura and Chris Riddell.

Publishers have until the closing date, midnight Friday 29 December 2017, to make their submissions. Eligible illustrators may have created book covers, or illustration for other media, or illustrated books in another genre - for example, poetry or fiction - but eligibility for the prize requires that this is her or his first picture book for children. The book should have been first published on a children’s list in the UK between 1 January and 31 December 2017. Books first published in another country must have been co-published in the UK within three months of the original publication date.

The Klaus Flugge Prize was launched in 2016. Nicholas John Frith won the inaugural prize with Hector and Hummingbird, published by Alison Green Books and the 2017 prize was awarded to Francesca Sanna for The Journey, published by Flying Eye Books.

‘We are delighted to be inviting submissions for the third Klaus Flugge Prize’, said Julia Eccleshare, ‘This important award champions the work of talented new illustrators and puts children’s book illustration in the spotlight.’

The winner receives a cheque for £5,000.

Francesca Sanna said: ‘I was incredibly honoured to see The Journey shortlisted for the Klaus Flugge Prize. To learn that my book had been chosen as the winner was really overwhelming. I am so grateful to the jury for this prize, which will help me continue doing the work I love, focusing on topics I deeply care about.’

The submission form and full criteria can be found here.

For more information, interview requests and images contact Andrea Reece:

Supported by: